Bhagavad Gita 15.16

Bhagavad Gita 15.16 – Audio Lecture, Q & A

dvāv imau puruṣau loke
kṣaraś cākṣara eva ca
kṣaraḥ sarvāṇi bhūtāni
kūṭa-stho ’kṣara ucyate


dvau — two; imau (eva)— (only) of these [imau dvau eva]; puruṣau — living entities; loke — in the world; kṣaraḥ — changeable, perishable, fallible; ca — and; akṣaraḥ — immutable, infallible; eva — certainly; ca — and; kṣaraḥ —perishable, fallible; sarvāṇi — all; bhūtāni — living entities; kūṭa-sthaḥ — spiritually situated in oneness; akṣaraḥ — infallible; ucyate — are described.

Bhagavad Gita 15.16


“There are only two types of living beings that exist in the world—the fallible, and the infallible. All the living beings from Lord Brahma to the lowest entity are perishable due to having fallen away from their true nature and having come in contact with material nature. Those who are situated in their eternally perfect nature in oneness of eternal association with the Supreme Lord, are known as infallible.”

  • Those in the material world who are captured by māyā and forgetfulness of their eternal nature are considered to be fallible. [When the living entity forgets his constitutional position as an eternal servant of Krsna.] Those in the spiritual world are liberated from matter and are imperishable; they are the infallible nitya mukta–eternally liberated ones. It is not possible to fall from the spiritual world to the material.
  • The soul aspect is in itself eternal and imperishable even though the material body is perishable. The descent of the soul came from the exercise of its free will to enjoy separately from Kṛṣṇa. Other type of descent (not fall) is when His servants come to the material world on Kṛṣṇa’s desire—e.g. : Jaya and Vijay. Or His associates in Vrindavana. They are still in association with Kṛṣṇa directly therefore there is no “fall down” from the spiritual position. This is not comparable to the descent of the nitya baddha (eternally bound) jivas from Brahma down to the lowest unmoving living being in the 14 planetary systems.
  • Those who revive their soul consciousness will return to the spiritual zone and therefore those in spiritual consciousness and action are considered infallible [even if they are in the material world]-they are in transition. Bhakti bhava means never to leave the association of Kṛṣṇa.
  • One achieves liberation from the material existence and the association of Krishna by being connected through the spiritual master to the impersonal Brahma (universal life force) Reiki energies, chanting the Hare Krishna Mahamantra, and being engaged in Krishna’s service. There is no progress without the grace of the spiritual master. By pleasing the spiritual master, Krishna is pleased. It is not possible to jump over the spiritual master to attain Krishna’s association. The master is the link.

[Ref:Śrī Śrī Gurv-aṣṭaka (Eight Prayers to the Guru) saṁsāra-dāvānala-līḍha-loka (Visvanatha Cakravarti Thakura, in Stavamrta Lahari).]

yasya prasādād bhagavat-prasādo
yasyāprasādān na gatiḥ kuto ‘pi
dhyāyan stuvaṁs tasya yaśas tri-sandhyaṁ
vande guroḥ śrī-caraṇāravindam

“By the grace and satisfaction of the spiritual master, the Supreme Personality of Godhead becomes satisfied and gives His benediction. Without the satisfaction and grace and the spiritual master, one cannot make advancement in Kṛṣṇa consciousness. I should always remember and praise the spiritual master three times a day, and therefore I offer my respectful obeisances unto unto the lotus feet of my spiritual master.”


Srimad Bhagavad Gita, The Hidden Treasure of the Sweet Absolute – Srila Bhakti Rakshak Sridhar Swami, (SCSMath) [Downloadable PDF]; [1961] -(2nd edition 2006)

Bhagavad Gita As It Is – Srila A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, Macmillan 1972.